Welcome to the Library...

If you've found this blog, thank you so much for taking time to check out my reviews. Please note that all the reviews are based very much on my own perception of the book and in no way should be taken as your only review source for the material. If you enjoyed a book I've reviewed, please feel free to share in the comments sections of the post.

23 June, 2020

[Review] The Grace Year by Kim Liggett

51298907. sx318 sy475
Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series: Stand Alone
Release Date: 9 October, 2019
Publisher: Macmillan Audio/Wednesday Publishing
Genre: Young Adult Fiction/Dystopian Fiction/Girls & Women Fiction/Fantasy Romance/Thiller
ISBN: 9781250623225
Edition: Audiobook/Hardback (also available on Kindle)
Rating: ★
Review Written: 12 June, 2020
Summary: A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. Optioned by Universal and Elizabeth Banks to be a major motion picture! Survive the year. No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden. In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their 16th year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive. Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life - a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make their fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other. With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.

See more by Kim Liggett at her Website.

12 May, 2020

[Review] Ember Queen by Laura Sebastian

39216077. sx318 Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series: Ash Princess Trilogy
Release Date: 4 February, 2020
Publisher: Listening Library/Delacourte Press
Genre: Young Adult Fiction/Epic Fantasy/Girls & Women Fiction/Fantasy Romance
ISBN: 9781524767143
Edition: Audiobook (also available in Kindle and Hardback)
Rating: ★★★★
Review Written: 29 April, 2020
Summary: Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo's blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers. Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin, imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way. The Kaiserin's strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart's sister.

See more by Laura Sebastian at her Website.

14 April, 2020

[Review] Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor

25446343  38525180. sy475
Cover images from the goodreads website.

Series: Strange the Dreamer Duology (#2)
Release Date: 2 October, 2018
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers (Hatchette Audio)
Genre: Young Adult Fiction/Epic Fantasy/Friendship/Romance/Mystery
ISBN: 9781549122774
Edition: Audiobook (also available in Kindle, Hardback, and Paperback)
Rating: ★★★★
Review Written: 2 March, 2020
Summary: The highly anticipated, thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer, from National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

Sarai has lived and breathed nightmares since she was six years old.She believed she knew every horror, and was beyond surprise. She was wrong. In the wake of tragedy, neither Lazlo nor Sarai are who they were before. One a god, the other a ghost, they struggle to grasp the new boundaries of their selves as dark-minded Minya holds them hostage, intent on vengeance against Weep. Lazlo faces an unthinkable choice--save the woman he loves, or everyone else?--while Sarai feels more helpless than ever. But is she? Sometimes, only the direst need can teach us our own depths, and Sarai, the muse of nightmares, has not yet discovered what she's capable of.

As humans and godspawn reel in the aftermath of the citadel's near fall, a new foe shatters their fragile hopes, and the mysteries of the Mesarthim are resurrected: Where did the gods come from, and why? What was done with thousands of children born in the citadel nursery? And most important of all, as forgotten doors are opened and new worlds revealed: Must heroes always slay monsters, or is it possible to save them instead? Love and hate, revenge and redemption, destruction and salvation all clash in this gorgeous sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer.

See more by Laini Taylor at her Website.

31 March, 2020

[Review] Neuromancer by William Gibson

13339655
Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series or Stand Alone: Sprawl #1
Release Date: 11 June, 2011 (originally published in July of 1984)
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Genre: Science Fiction/Adult Fiction/Cyberpunk/Technothriller/High-Tech Science Fiction
ISBN: 9780307969941
Edition: Audiobook (available in paperback, ebook, and hard cover)
Rating: ★★
Review Written: 2 March, 2020
Warnings: A lot of technobabble, scenes of torture, a lot of NSFW content
Summary:  
Winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Philip K. Dick Awards

Case was the sharpest data thief in the Matrix, until an ex-employer crippled his nervous system. Now a new employer has recruited him for a last-chance run against an unthinkably powerful artificial intelligence. With a mirror-eyed girl street-samurai riding shotgun, he's ready for the silicon-quick, bleakly prophetic adventure that upped the ante on an entire genre of fiction.

See more by William Gibson at his Website.

17 March, 2020

[Review] Cats are a Liquid by Rebecca Donnelly

42642164. sx318
Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series or Stand Alone: Stand Alone
Release Date: 8 October, 2019
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Genre: Children's Fiction/Science/Picture Book/Humor
ISBN: 9781250206596
Edition: Hardcover Picture Book
Rating: ★★★★
Review Written: 10 February, 2020
Warnings: None
Summary:  
Cats fill./ Cats spill./ Cats flow downhill./ Cats tip./ Cats drip./ Cats grip, snip, rip./ Cats are a liquid/ Except when they’re not.

Celebrate cats in all their flowing, furry glory! This charming picture book examines the unusual physical properties of felines. Inspired by an Ig Nobel Prize–winning investigation of how cats behave like liquids, it introduces some of the physical properties of liquids—they adapt to fit a container, they flow like fluids—and is just pure fun. Like its inspiration, it makes you laugh, then think. Back matter includes a brief introduction to the different physical states: solid, liquid, gas.

See more by Rebecca Donnelly at her goodreads Website.

03 March, 2020

[Review] Kill the Farm Boy by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne

34431692. sy475
Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series or Stand Alone: The Tales of Pell #1
Release Date: 17 July, 2018
Publisher: Random House/Random House Audio
Genre: Fantasy/Humor
ASIN: B079J5K13P
Edition: Audiobook
Rating: ★★
Review Written: 7 February, 2020
Warnings: Death, Rude Humor
Summary:  
Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born...and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death...and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini.

This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

See more by authors at their websites.

18 February, 2020

[Review] The Word for World is Forest by Ursula K. Le Guin

13419972
Cover image from the goodreads website.

Series or Stand Alone: Hainish Cycle #5
Release Date: 17 March, 1972 (audio 7 December, 2009)
Publisher: Audible Frontiers
Genre: Science Fiction/Colonial Science Fiction/Adventure
ASIN: B00304MW0Y
Edition: Audiobook
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Review Written: 3 February, 2020
Warnings: Racism, Character Death, Mentions of Rape
Summary:  
The planet Athshe was a paradise whose people were blessed with a mystical awareness of existence.

Then the conquerors arrived and began to rape, enslave, and kill humans with a flicker of humanity. The athseans were unskilled in the ways of war, and without weapons. But the gentle tribesmen possessed strange powers over their dreams. And the alien conquerors had taught them how to hate....

See more by Ursula K Le Guin at her Website.

Follow by Email