14 April, 2015

Blog Tour Review: To Catch a Falling Star by Anna Belfrage

Displaying 02_To Catch a Falling Star_Cover.jpg

To Catch a Falling Star is the eighth book in Anna Belfrage’s series featuring time traveller Alexandra Lind and her seventeenth century husband, Matthew Graham. 

Some gifts are double-edged swords … 

For Matthew Graham, being given the gift of his former Scottish manor is a dream come true. For his wife, Alex, this gift will force her to undertake a perilous sea journey, leaving most of their extensive family in the Colony of Maryland. Alex is torn apart by this, but staying behind while her husband travels to Scotland is no option. 

Scotland in 1688 is a divided country, torn between the papist Stuart king and the foreign but Protestant William of Orange. In the Lowlands, popular opinion is with Dutch William, and Matthew’s reluctance to openly support him does not endear him to his former friends and neighbors. 

While Matthew struggles to come to terms with the fact that Scotland of 1688 bears little resemblance to his lovingly conserved memories, Alex is forced to confront unresolved issues from her past, including her overly curious brother-in-law, Luke Graham. And then there’s the further complication of the dashing, flamboyant Viscount Dundee, a man who knocks Alex completely off her feet. 

All the turmoil that accompanies their return to Scotland pales into insignificance when a letter arrives, detailing the calamities threatening their youngest daughter in Maryland – at the hand of that most obnoxious minister, Richard Campbell. Matthew and Alex have no choice but to hasten back, no matter the heartache this causes. 

Will they make it back in time? And what will Richard Campbell do? 

Buy To Catch a Falling Star
Barnes & Noble

Graham Saga Titles
Book One: A Rip in the Veil 
Book Two: Like Chaff in the Wind 
Book Three: The Prodigal Son 
Book Four: A Newfound Land 
Book Five: Serpents in the Garden 
Book Six: Revenge & Retribution 
Book Seven: Whither Thou Goest 
Book Eight: To Catch a Falling Star 

About the Author 

I was raised abroad, on a pungent mix of Latin American culture, English history and Swedish traditions. As a result I’m multilingual and most of my reading is historical – both non-fiction and fiction. 

Displaying 03_Anna Belfrage.JPG
I was always going to be a writer – or a historian, preferably both. Instead I ended up with a degree in Business and Finance, with very little time to spare for my most favourite pursuit. Still, one does as one must, and in between juggling a challenging career I raised my four children on a potent combination of invented stories, historical debates and masses of good food and homemade cakes. They seem to thrive … Nowadays I spend most of my spare time at my writing desk. The children are half grown, the house is at times eerily silent and I slip away into my imaginary world, with my imaginary characters. Every now and then the one and only man in my life pops his head in to ensure I’m still there. I like that – just as I like how he makes me laugh so often I’ll probably live to well over a hundred. 

I was always going to be a writer. Now I am – I have achieved my dream. 

For more information, please visit Anna Belfrage’s website and blog. You can also find her on FacebookTwitter, and Goodreads.


Series: The Graham Saga, Book 8 
Release Date: 1 March, 2015 
Publisher: SilverWood Books
Genre: Historical Fiction/Time Slip 
ISBN: 9781781322437 
Edition: Paperback 
Rating: ★★★★★ Review 
Written: 13 April, 2015 

If you've been following my blog for a while, you might have noticed previous tour reviews for books six and seven in this lovely series. I absolutely loved them so when the chance came up to review book eight, I had to jump on it. 

Our favorite duo are back, but this time they're off to Scotland. Of course, to modern standards that's not so bad, but in 1688 once you head for Scotland from America, chances are you won't be coming back. This proves to be an issue for our our heroine Alex who dreads leaving her extensive family of children in Maryland however she has little choice but to follow her husband back to Scotland. There they're faced with a torn country, parties from their past, and just trying to settle into their new pace of life without causing too many waves.

As with the previous installments of this series, Belfrage proves to have done her research with the setting and time period, giving readers an adventure worthy of Matthew and Alex. Her mastery of language and scenery lends itself to readers imaginations. Definitely a must read if you've read any of the others of the series.

No comments:

Post a Comment