21 December, 2014

Book Tour: Die I Will Not by S. K. Rizzolo

Die I Will Not

Add to GR Button

Unhappy wife and young mother Penelope Wolfe fears scandal for her family and worse. A Tory newspaper editor has been stabbed while writing a reply to the latest round of letters penned by a firebrand calling himself Collatinus. Twenty years before, her father, the radical Eustace Sandford, wrote as Collatinus before he fled London just ahead of accusations of treason and murder. A mysterious beauty closely connected to Sandford and known only as N.D. had been brutally slain, her killer never punished. The seditious new Collatinus letters that attack the Prince Regent in the press also seek to avenge N.D.'s death and unmask her murderer. What did the journalist know that provoked his death?

Her artist husband Jeremy is no reliable ally, so Penelope turns anew to lawyer Edward Buckler and Bow Street Runner John Chase. As she battles public notoriety, Buckler and Chase put their careers at risk to stand behind her while pursuing various lines of inquiry aimed at N.D.'s murderer, a missing memoir, Royal scandal, and the dead editor's missing wife. As they navigate the dark underbelly of Regency London among a cast driven by dirty politics and dark passions, as well as by decency and a desire for justice, past secrets and present criminals are exposed, upending Penelope's life and the lives of others.

John Chase Mystery Series

Book One: The Rose in the Wheel
Book Two: Blood for Blood
Book Three: Die I Will Not

Buy the Book

SK Rizzolo
About the Author

S.K. Rizzolo is a longtime Anglophile and history enthusiast. Set in Regency England, The Rose in the Wheel and Blood for Blood are the first two novels in her series about a Bow Street Runner, an unconventional lady, and a melancholic barrister. An English teacher, Rizzolo has earned an M.A. in literature and lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

For more information please visit S.K. Rizzolo's website. You can also find her on Facebook and Goodreads.


Series: John Chase Mystery Series
Release Date: 4 November, 2014
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Genre: Historical Mystery/Regency
Edition: ARC Paperback
Review Written: 21 December, 2014

My deepest and sincerest apologies to both Amy at Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours and to S. K. Rizzolo for failing to review this during the time that it was supposed to be posted. No amount of explanations really will make up for the fact that I failed to post this at the right point in time.

Die I Will Not is the third book in the John Chase series, however it is enough of a standalone book that readers can safely pick up the book and enjoy the mystery inside without needing the previous two books. Yes, they might miss a slight amount of back story with characters involved, yet this novel is a captivating find. Readers will be enthralled and captivated by the plight of Penelope Wolfe, an unhappy mother and wife finds a scandal threatening her family.

Saddled with an unhelpful husband for an ally, Penelope must use the help of Edward Buckler and John Chase. Together the three race against the clock and against the scandal that's sure to follow, to save the day. Rizzolo's writing is fantastic, and captivating, a treat for any reader who picks up this novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment